Board And Staff

Board of Directors

The BCPE is governed by an elected board of directors comprised of ten certificate holders and one public member, and is managed by an Executive Director and Executive Administrator. Each director serves a three year term and is eligible to serve a second, consecutive, three-year term, if re-elected to the Board.  Directors assist the BCPE in carrying out its mission and furthering its goals.

The BCPE is endorsed by the International Ergonomics Association as a recognized ergonomics certifying body and is a corporate member of the Institute for Credentialing Excellence.

Gene Kay photo

Gene A. Kay, MS, CPE ret.

Denny Yu

Denny Yu, PhD, CPE


Patrick L. Craven, PhD, CHFP

Vice President

Tom Callaghan, MS, CUXP

SAlmosnino Pic B&W

Sivan Almosnino, PhD, CHFP

Cynthia Rando

Cynthia Rando, MS, MBA, CHFP


Linda Tapp, ALCM, CSP, CPTD

Director at Large

Open Seat


Shaheen Ahmed, PhD, CPE

Jennifer L. Law

Jennifer L. Law, MS, CPE


Open seat



Carol Stuart-Buttle

Carol Stuart-Buttle, MS, CPE

Executive Director
Kris Rightmire

Kris Rightmire, BS

Executive Administrator

Past Directors

BCPE was found in 1990 thanks to the dedication of its Founders indicated in bold and carried on by the Directors that have followed in their steps.

Alphonse Chapanis, PhD, CHFP (1990-1993)*

David Meister, PhD, CPE (1990-1994)*

Melvin H. Rudov, PhD, CPE (1990-1994)**

Hal W. Hendrick, PhD, CPE (1990-1998)*

Dieter W. Jahns, MS, CPE (Executive Director, 1990 – 1998)*

George A. Peters, MS, JD, CPE (1990-1994)**

H. Harvey Cohen, PhD, CPE (1990-1998)**

David J. Cochran, PhD, CPE (1990-1996)**

Jerry R. Duncan, PhD, CPE (1990-1996)**

Steven M. Casey, PhD, CPE (1990-1996)**

Valerie B. Rice, PhD, CPE (1993-2000)**

Colin G. Drury, PhD, CPE (1994-1997)**

Douglas H. Harris, PhD, CPE (1994-1997)**

Ulrika C. Wallersteiner, MSc, CPE (1994-1996)**

David C. Alexander, MS, CPE (1996-2002)

Ian Noy, PhD, CPE (1996-1999)**

Robert J. Smillie, PhD, CPE (1996-2002)

Carol Stuart-Buttle, MS, CPE (1996-2004)

J. Brian Peacock, PhD, CPE (1997-2000)**

K. Ron Laughery Jr, PhD, CPE (1998-2000)**

Anna M. Wichansky, PhD, CPE (1998-2001)**

Andrew S. Imada, PhD, CPE (1998-2004)

Gary B. Orr, MSIE, CPE (1999-2001)

James L. Smith, PhD, CPE (2000-2003)**

Randolph G. Bias, PhD, CHFP (2001-2002)***

Steven L. Johnson, PhD, CPE (2000-2005)**

Arnold M. Lund, PhD, CUXP (2000-2006)**

Waldemar Karwowski, PhD, CPE (2003-2006)

Dennis K. McBride, PhD, CPE (2002-2006)***

Susan M. Evans, PhD, CPE (2001-2007)**

William H. Muto, PhD, CPE (2001-2007)**

Peter M. Budnick, PhD, CPE (2002-2008)

Mark S. Hoffman, MA, CPE (2002-2008)**

Robert R. Moritz, MA, CPE (2003-2009)

Ellen M. Gallo, MS, CPE (2007-2009)

Christopher A. Hamrick, MS, CPE (2004-2010)

Marvin J. Dainoff, PhD, CPE (2002-2011)

Elaine C. Wisniewski, MSE, CPE (2008-2011)

James M. Kondziela, PhD, CUXP (2005-2012)

Lynda A. Enos, MS, CPE (2006-2012)

James R. Rudd, PhD, CUXP (2006-2012)**

David M. Copley, MS (Director at Large, 2008-2013)

William J. Boyd, MS, CPE (2007 – 2013)

Hugh E. McLoone, MS, CPE (2007-2014)

David M. Brodie, MS, CPE (2008-2014)

Pieter C. Kruithof Jr., MS, CPE (2012-2015)

Jeffrey E. Fernandez PhD, CPE (2010-2016)

Paul A. Green, PhD, CHFP (2011-2016)

Joseph Cohen, PhD, CPE (2011-2017)

Rachel R. Michael, MSc, CPE (2011-2017)

Cindy R. Whitehead, MHS, CPE (2012-2018)

John ("Jeff") F. Kelley, PhD, CUXP (2012-2018)**

Matthew Pierce MBA (Director At Large) (2013-2020)

Robert (Bob) J. Torres MS, CUXP (2014-2020)

Brian R. Sherman MSISE, CPE (2014-2020)

Kari L. Babski-Reeves PhD, CPE (2015-2021)

James D. Rethaber, PhD, CPE (2016 - 2021)

Michael A. Boggi, MS, CHFP (2016 - 2022)




Founders in bold

Scroll to Top